The original Erie Canal built communities throughout Central New York.
Routing changes made during the Barge Canal era in the early 1900s redirected canal traffic along rivers and lakes north of the original route.
The new route takes the canal through Oneida Lake, the Oneida River, Seneca River, Onondaga Lake, and Cross Lake, bypassing the communities of Canastota, Chittenango, Dewitt, downtown Syracuse, Camillus, Weedsport, and Port Byron. Yet these communities retain and showcase their Canal heritage, which can be enjoyed at several locations throughout the Central Region.
Explore Attractions Below
Historic and Cultural Sites and Museums
Step back in time in Central New York, where significant remnants of the towpath-era Erie Canal are preserved and open to the public.
Erie Canal Park & Sims Store Museum The Sims Museum is a replica canal side store circa 1856. The park also features a dry section of Clinton's Ditch, Nine Mile Creek Aqueduct, replica lock tender's shanty, and other outdoor displays. Trails for hiking, bicycling, snowmobiling, and horseback riding.
Canastota Canal Town Museum brings to life local history and folklore of the Old Erie Canal. Located beside a remnant of the original canal, the museum is filled with authentic memorabilia, art, and other exhibits explaining Canastota’s contributions to the canal, business, industry and agriculture.
Chittenango Landing Canal Boat Museum Located within the Old Erie Canal State Historic Park; 96-foot long cargo boats were built and repaired on this site during the 19th and 20th centuries. The museum tells of the construction of these boats, the workings of the restored dry docks, and the social history of the canal era.
Old Erie Canal State Historic Park 36-mile linear park provides recreational opportunties along a portion of the historic Enlarged Erie Canal, constructed between 1836-1862. DeWitt Canal Center, located in the park, has a full-size boat collection including historic houseboat and buoy tender. Visit Site »
Erie Canal Museum Housed in the only remaining Weighlock Building (1850), where canal boats were weighed during the days when they traveled through the center of Syracuse on the Erie Canal. Exhibits on all facets of the canal.